March Employee Spotlight: Taylor Douglas

March 19, 2021

Taylor Beach

Job Title

Kennel Assistant 

What you do at PAWS

I work cat care shifts and a dog disinfection shift. On my cat care shifts I am responsible for feeding, medicating, and cleaning up after cats. On the dog disinfect shift, I thoroughly clean and disinfect all of the rooms on the dog side. On all my shifts I do side work such as laundry, dishes, and socializing the animals!

Years with PAWS

Almost a year and a half (since December 2019)

Your pets at home

I have one dog and 2 cats. Thor is my 4-year-old pit bull. Hella is my 3-ish-year-old (we don't know her true age because we got her as a stray) Torbie. And Groot is my 9-month-old tabby. I also have a six-year-old stepson, which is kind of like an animal!

Favorite thing about PAWS

Spending time with all of the animals and meeting new animals and people! I have friends at PAWS that I would not have made otherwise, and I have met so many lovable animals! PAWS is also the place where I come to de-stress and get away from my academic work for a few hours!

What you can usually be found doing outside of work?

I am a second year PhD student in the School Psychology program at Penn State. So when I am not at PAWS, you can probably find me writing a paper, sitting in a Zoom class, or reading a text book! In the summer I spend every day at the pool with my stepson, and I love the beach! 

What's your favorite concert you've ever attended?

My favorite concert I have ever been to was Guns N' Roses in Philadelphia in 2016!

Anything else fun or interesting people might be interested in learning about you?

I am bilingual in English and Spanish, and so are my pets!